Skip to content

Embrace the Courage to be your Authentic Self!

June 20, 2015

aydian dWhat does it mean to you to be authentic to your True Self?  Are you doing it?  If you aren’t, what would that be and what is stopping you? 

I’m inspired today by transgender activist and entrepreneur Aydian Dowling.  He was recently on Ellen and is positioned to possibly become the first transgender man to be on the cover of Men’s Health!  Talk about having the guts to be authentic…as my partner says, “Go big or stay home.”  (Not that we want you to actually stay home if you don’t like going big 😉 )

I truly believe the world is a better place when we each have heart, take risks and jump into our courage to be true to ourselves.  I spent years questioning and running from various aspects of my identity and my career path, to name a few.  I was so afraid of what I would be called to do if I really embraced more of my authenticity.  Like, deathly afraid.  The kind of fear that makes you feel like it’s not from this life, as if you had been heavily ostracized in another life for being you.

What I found is that once I was willing and open, once I said “Ok Universe, I’m ready.  I know this might be huge and it might be really hard…and, I’m ready as I will ever be,” a HUGE weight was lifted.  I felt LIBERATED.  I even found I was no longer afraid to fly in airplanes!

Now, the more I embrace the things I have feared and run from, the more the path of awesomeness opens up.  It’s almost ridiculous – the number of opportunities flying my way since I came out and committed more seriously to personal development and leadership!  At times, I feel dumbfounded and in awe like when someone gives you the most amazing gift ever and you look at them with disbelief: “For me?  Really?!!”

And yes…for YOU.  REALLY!  You deserve it.  You deserve to go big.  You deserve the awesome that life is waiting to give you.  All you have to do is be willing to stand up, claim it, be it and do it!

If you are hiding in the wings or wondering why all the good seems to be dishing out to everyone but you, why not have a check in with yourself….Are you hiding in fear of yourself?  In fear of others?  Trust me…there is some much diversity out there and support for it.

There is a place for YOU if you will just embrace the courage to be YOU!  I’m cheering you on!!!  GO! GO! GO!!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 20, 2015 12:01 PM

    Thanks, It’s so inspiring.

    Like

Express Yourself!

